To learn more about supporting or getting involved in WEAVR, please contact the ARVO Foundation

WEAVR Leadership Committee

Terri L. Young,
MD, FARVO  -  Chair

Sally S. Atherton,

Haydee E. P. Bazan,

Sarah E. Coupland,

Lynn K. Gordon,

M. Elizabeth Hartnett,

Jean T. Jacob,

Stella M. Robertson,

Lily L. Wong,


Women in Eye and Vision Research

new WEAVR logo

What is WEAVR?

Nearly 50% of ARVO’s members are female, yet only recently have women held leadership positions at ARVO. Few department chairs are female, and faculty report obstacles to women in the academic environment.

The ARVO Foundation for Eye Research established Women in Eye and Vision Research (WEAVR) in 2008 to further develop and strengthen the career paths of women in eye and vision research. Activities include networking opportunities and awarding travel grants to support new vision scientists worldwide.

What WEAVR offers

Each year through WEAVR the ARVO Foundation hosts two fundraising events, money raised at these events funds travel grants and travel fellowships for women in eye and vision research to attend the ARVO Annual Meeting: 

  • WEAVR Luncheon — In addition to raising funds this annual event provides great opportunities for networking. Luncheon attendees can meet new people and network with others in their field. Prominent scientists from around the world are invited as guest speakers to share their experiences.
  • WEAVR Silent Auction — With the “Time with an Expert” silent auction, Annual Meeting attendees have the incredible opportunity to meet one-on-one with some of the most renowned members of the eye and vision research community. ARVO pioneers — such as Sir Peng Khaw and John E. Dowling — donate 30 minutes of their time to meet with the winning bidder. All proceeds benefit travel grants for female researchers. 

Thanks to the funds raised at these events, as well as donations to the ARVO Foundation, the WEAVR program supports the following  

WEAVR also hosts a WEAVR Group LinkedIn page to further facilitate networking for women after the ARVO Annual Meeting. 

Meet the 2016 WEAVR awardees

WEAVR congratulates the following female scientists who were selected as the recipients of WEAVR’s travel awards.

2016 WEAVR Developing Country Eye Researcher Travel Fellowship (DCERF)

Nguyen Ngan Ha, MD Hanoi Medical University and the Vietnam National Institute of Ophthalmology

WEAVR Travel Grants

Lene Hagen
University College of Southeast Norway 

Rong Liu, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham 

Update LinkedIn information to ARVO Connect  

WEAVR also hosts a community for women on ARVO Connect to further facilitate networking after the ARVO Annual Meeting. To be added to the group, please email