2015 Achievement Award recipients

ARVO announces the 2015 recipients of the following ARVO Achievement awards:

Proctor Medal

Proctor and Friedenwald Awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding research in the basic or clinical sciences as applied to ophthalmology.

Patricia D'Amore, MBA, PhD, FARVO (RC)
Schepens Eye Research Institute

ARVO 2015 lecture: Regulation of retinal vascular growth: development, pathology and therapy
Monday, May 4, 5:45  6:30pm

D'Amore's influence on ophthalmology has been far reaching and encompassed many fields. Her studies have resulted in major contributions to angiogenesis, vascular biology, retinopathies, choroidopathies, corneal diseases and the role of several growth factors in the eye. The breadth of her contributions is apparent in her 141 peer-reviewed manuscripts, 66 reviews and the four books of which she is editor.       


Friedenwald Award 

Proctor and Friedenwald Awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding research in the basic or clinical sciences as applied to ophthalmology.

David Berson, PhD (VN)
Brown University 

ARVO 2015 lecture: Ganglion cells and ganglion-cell photoreceptors
Wednesday, May 6, 6:45  7:30pm

An outstanding retinal neuroanatomist/neurophysiologist, Berson has devoted his career to studying parallel processing in vision at the level of the retinal ganglion cells. Using state-of-the-art techniques and a number of mammalian models, he has, for many years, systematically characterized a whole array of new morphological types of retinal ganglion cells, linking them to specific patterns of projection to the brain, unique types of intrinsic electrical behavior, distinctive patterns of synaptic input and characteristic patterns of response to visual stimuli.       


Weisenfeld Award

The Weisenfeld Award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology.

Joan Miller, MD, FARVO  (RE)
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary

ARVO 2015 lecture: Beyond VEGF
Monday, May 4, 6:45  7:30pm

One of the most important developments ever seen in ophthalmology is the identification of the role of vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) and subsequent treatment with VEGF inhibitors of vascular retinal diseases, such as age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, and branch and central venous occlusion. Miller is one of the great leaders in this field, making eminent contributions to the knowledge regarding the role of VEGF in ocular diseases and being the first to develop an effective treatment for age-related macular degeneration, i.e., photodynamic therapy.         


Cogan Award

The Cogan Award is recognizes a young researcher who is 45 years of age or less at the time of nomination. This person will have made important and worthwhile contributions to research in ophthalmology or visual science which is directly related to disorders of the human eye or visual system, and who shows substantial promise for the future.

Anneke den Hollander, PhD (BI)
Nijmegen University

ARVO 2015 lecture: How the omics revolution transformed ophthalmology
Wednesday, May 6, 5:45  6:30pm

Den Hollander’s work has greatly contributed to our understanding of the molecular causes of a series of retinal diseases. She identified the majority of the genetic causes of Leber congenital amaurosis (LCA). She was the lead scientist in studies that identified the CEP290, CRBJ and LCA5 genes, which together underlie 35% of all LCA cases. ln addition, her group identified numerous genes involved in retinitis pigmentosa, cone- and cone-rod dystrophy. Her group recently identified mutations in the RAB28 gene as a novel cause of cone-rod dystrophy, highlighting a new disease mechanism. This work was published in the American Journal of Human Genetics, one of the highest ranked genetic journals.


Joanne G. Angle Award

David C. Beebe, PhD, FARVO                    
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

Former ARVO president, David C. Beebe, PhD, FARVO, has been named the recipient of the 2015 Joanne G. Angle Award for his contributions to ARVO. The Angle Award is ARVO’s highest service honor, recognizing outstanding leaders who have made significant, continuous contributions to ARVO. A Gold Fellow, Beebe has served ARVO for nearly 20 years. From 1996 – 2002, he was on the Board of Trustees (LE Section), serving as ARVO president from 2000 – 2001. He has also been a member of the Publications and Advocacy Committees and a member and chair of the Finance Committee. Most recently, Beebe has been involved with ARVO’s journal IOVS, sitting on the editorial board for several years and serving as IOVS editor-in-chief since 2012.


Distinguished Service Awards

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to elected ARVO officers and editors-in-chief upon completion of their terms, in appreciation for dedicated service to ARVO.  
Justine Smith, FRANZCO, PhD, FARVO (IM)
Flinders University
Immediate Past President, President and IM Section Trustee
Justine Smith Photo(1)
John Penn, PhD, FARVO (RC)
Vanderbilt University
Vice President and RC Section Trustee
John Penn Photo(1)
David Williams, PhD, FARVO (VI)
University of Rochester
Vice President and VI Section Trustee                  
David Williams Photo(1)
David C. Beebe, PhD, FARVO
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Editor-in-Chief, Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science (IOVS), 2013 – 2015   


Phoenix research labs